Réservation en ligne

International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens

To all visitors, 
We thank you for coming in large numbers to discover the creations of the 12th edition of the International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Currently closed, the Festival will reopen its doors from Thursday May 26 to Sunday October 16, 2022.

For any request, we invite you to send us an email at communication@artetjardins-hdf.com 

We look forward to welcoming you on the next edition !

The team of Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Élever la terre > Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe, 2021

Élever la terre > Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe, 2021
Monday April 12th, 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe © Yann Monel
  • Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe © Yann Monel
  • Chantier Élever la terre © Mathieu Farcy
  • Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe © Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe

The garden is a story of traditional agriculture in a humid environment all over the world. It is a tribute to these unique and highly ingenious agricultures, which have learned over time to deal with the fluctuations of water.

Water is a natural sculptor, it creates a landscape of contours, it designs a labyrinth. It allows the irrigation and drainage of plots cultivated in wetlands. The scenography imposed by the course of the water over the fragmented land becomes the structure of the garden. The abundance of water offers incredible biodiversity that gives the marshes a rare beauty and creates a particularly fertile land. But «if water is the working tool of the market gardeners, excess water is their permanent fear» stated Éric Mollard and Annie Walter. To prevent a flood, the market gardener literally «raises» the land to cultivate his plot.

Raise the earth sets out to discover these raised areas of earth in the landscape. The journey leads to five compositions, five fragments of traditional agricultural heritage. South American camellones are shaped by cultivation beds that remind us of a «corrugated iron» silhouette. Corn, beans and squash are grown there, the virtuous association of which – in the garden or on the plate – gives them the name of the «three sisters».

In the chinampas of Mexico, the nurseries are set up in boxes that contain fertile mud in which a wide variety of plants are grown, including tomatoes.
Thai Hortillonnages are composed of long and narrow raised beds of crops. They are very productive, and flowers, vegetables, aromatics and fruit plants are all grown together. As for the mounds of Dugum Dani in Oceania, they allow the cultivation of tubers such as yams or taros. Four gardens can be seen along the walk.

The fifth space is dedicated to the Hortillonnages of Amiens a recursive image that opens onto the surrounding landscape.
Across the world, cultivation techniques create a collection of shapes: ridge, mound, raised plank, platform, long strip of earth, cavaillon, ditch, furrow… Traditionally, they meet the needs of plants. With this garden, the vegetation sublimates the curvature of the earth which is magnified here.

Raise the earth is an invitation to reflect on the earth as a heritage to be cherished and as a nourishing substrate.

The artist

Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe

Livia Kolb and Virginie Alexe form a complementary team that combines artistic sensibility, botanical knowledge and technical know-how. They both originate from the Mediterranean which marks their sensitivity as landscapers and their attraction to tried and tested landscapes. In their landscape projects, they imagine poetic spaces to talk about heritage and local crafts. Interpreting the site’s constraints and issues is also an opportunity to question representations. Above all, they give pride of place to the diversity of living things in all their forms.

Réservation en ligne

Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens

Cher public, Chers visiteurs,
Nous vous remercions d’être venus nombreux pour découvrir les créations de la 12ème édition du Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Actuellement fermé, le Festival ouvrira à nouveau ses portes du jeudi 26 mai au dimanche 16 octobre 2022.

Pour toute demande d’informations, nous vous invitons à nous adresser un courriel à communication@artetjardins-hdf.com

Au plaisir de vous retrouver pour la prochaine édition !

L’équipe d’Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Élever la terre > Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe, 2021

Élever la terre > Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe, 2021
lundi 12 avril 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe © Yann Monel
  • Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe © Yann Monel
  • Chantier Élever la terre © Mathieu Farcy
  • Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe © Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe

Le jardin est un récit de l’agriculture traditionnelle en milieu humide à travers le monde. Il est une ode à ces agricultures singulières d’une grande ingéniosité, qui ont appris au fil du temps à composer avec les oscillations de l’eau.

Sculptrice naturelle, l’eau crée un paysage de contours, elle dessine un labyrinthe. Elle permet l’irrigation et le drainage des parcelles cultivées en zone humide. La scénographie imposée par le parcours de l’eau à la terre morcelée devient la structure du jardin. L’eau en abondance offre une biodiversité inouïe qui confère aux marais une beauté rare et une terre particulièrement fertile. Mais « si l’eau est l’outil de travail des hortillons, l’excès d’eau en est la crainte permanente » précisent Éric Mollard et Annie Walter. En prévention d’une crue, dans un élan sculptural, le paysan de l’eau « élève » littéralement la terre pour cultiver sa parcelle.

Élever la terre part donc à la découverte de ces élévations de terre dans le paysage. La déambulation mène à cinq compositions, cinq fragments d’un patrimoine agricole traditionnel. Les camellones d’Amérique du Sud sont façonnés par des planches de culture rappelant une silhouette de « tôle ondulée » maintes fois répétées. On y cultive maïs, haricots et courges dont l’association vertueuse – au jardin et dans l’assiette – leur confère l’appellation des « trois sœurs ».

Au sein des chinampas du Mexique, les pépinières sont aménagées dans des casiers qui contiennent les boues fertiles dans lesquelles sont cultivées une grande variété de plantes dont les tomates.
Les Hortillonnages thaïlandais sont, eux, composés de planches de cultures longues et étroites surélevées. Très productifs, fleurs, plantes potagères, aromatiques et fruitiers s’y côtoient. Quant aux buttes des Dugum Dani en Océanie, elles permettent la culture de tubercules comme les ignames ou les taros.

Quatre jardins ponctuent ainsi le parcours.
Dédié aux Hortillonnages d’Amiens, le cinquième espace est une mise en abîme qui s’ouvre sur le paysage environnant.

À travers le monde, les techniques culturales fabriquent une collection de formes : billon, butte, monticule, planche surélevée, plateforme, longue bande de terre, cavaillon, fossé, sillon… Traditionnellement, elles répondent aux besoins des végétaux. Avec ce jardin, le végétal sublime les courbes de la terre qui est ici magnifiée.

Élever la terre est une invitation à la réflexion autour de la terre comme patrimoine à chérir et substrat nourricier.

L'artiste

Livia Kolb & Virginie Alexe

Livia Kolb et Virginie Alexe forment une équipe complémentaire mêlant sensibilité artistique, connaissances botaniques et savoir-faire techniques. La Méditerranée dont elles sont originaires marque leur sensibilité de paysagistes et leur attrait pour les paysages éprouvés. Dans leurs projets de paysage, elles imaginent des espaces poétiques pour parler de patrimoine et d’artisanat local. L’interprétation des contraintes et des enjeux du site est aussi une occasion d’interroger les représentations. Mais elles font surtout la part belle à la diversité du vivant sous toutes ses formes.