Réservation en ligne

International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens

To all visitors, 
We thank you for coming in large numbers to discover the creations of the 12th edition of the International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Currently closed, the Festival will reopen its doors from Thursday May 26 to Sunday October 16, 2022.

For any request, we invite you to send us an email at communication@artetjardins-hdf.com 

We look forward to welcoming you on the next edition !

The team of Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Vivants > Matthieu Gafsou, 2021

Vivants > Matthieu Gafsou, 2021
Tuesday April 27th, 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Yann Monel
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Yann Monel
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Yann Monel
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Matthieu Gafsou

The Institut pour la photographie des Hauts-de-France presents Vivants serie by Matthieu Gafsou, produced during his residency in our region (2020). In resonance with the natural site of Hortillonnages, the photographer invites us to rediscover the work of the land, of breeding ; he promotes the «living heritage», patrimoine vivant in french.

The separation between Nature and Culture is one of the pillars defining our modern society. Paradoxically, this separation symbolically authorized the destruction of our natural environment, which was given the status of Other. Faced with the ecological crisis, new forms of social practices are emerging, especially in agriculture. They fight against the devastating effects of intensive cultivation (soil impoverishment, extinction of biodiversity, pollution) and advocate the redefinition of the current economic system.

I was able to meet producers or micro-communities who have set up other forms of social organization and other ways of thinking about the relationship to their environment, questioning our traditional patterns. Rather than forcing nature (by plowing, chemical pesticides), these people agree not to control or dominate it. These photographs are a personal testimony of a relationship with the living based on gentleness. Through this approach, I seek to shift the epistemological crisis that is playing out today (rethinking the place of the human in the living) into the realm of the sensitive.



 

The artist

Matthieu Gafsou

Born in 1981, Matthieu Gafsou is a Franco-Swiss photographer, based in Lausanne. After obtaining a MA in philosophy, literature and cinema at the University of Lausanne, he studied photography at the École d’Arts Appliqués in Vevey. Since 2006, his projects such as «Alpes», «Sacré», «Only God Can Judge Me» and «H +» have been presented in numerous international group and individual exhibitions, and have been the subject of publications.

Réservation en ligne

Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens

Cher public, Chers visiteurs,
Nous vous remercions d’être venus nombreux pour découvrir les créations de la 12ème édition du Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Actuellement fermé, le Festival ouvrira à nouveau ses portes du jeudi 26 mai au dimanche 16 octobre 2022.

Pour toute demande d’informations, nous vous invitons à nous adresser un courriel à communication@artetjardins-hdf.com

Au plaisir de vous retrouver pour la prochaine édition !

L’équipe d’Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Vivants > Matthieu Gafsou, 2021

Vivants > Matthieu Gafsou, 2021
mardi 27 avril 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Yann Monel
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Yann Monel
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Yann Monel
  • Matthieu Gafsou © Matthieu Gafsou

L’Institut pour la photographie des Hauts-de-France présente la série Vivants de Matthieu Gafsou, réalisée lors de sa résidence dans notre région en 2020. En résonance avec le site naturel des Hortillonnages, le photographe nous invite à redécouvrir le travail de la terre, de l’élevage ; il valorise ici le patrimoine du vivant.

La séparation entre Nature et Culture est l’un des piliers définissant notre société moderne. Paradoxalement, cette séparation a symboliquement autorisé la destruction de notre environnement naturel, auquel on a conféré le statut d’Autre. Face à la crise écologique, de nouvelles formes de pratiques sociales émergent, notamment dans l’agriculture. Elles luttent contre les effets dévastateurs de la culture intensive (appauvrissements des sols, extinction de la biodiversité, pollution…) et prônant la redéfinition du système économique actuel.

J’ai pu rencontrer des producteurs ou des micro-communautés qui ont mis en place d’autres formes d’organisation sociale et d’autres manières de penser la relation à leur milieu, mettant en doute nos schémas traditionnels. Plutôt que de forcer la nature (par le labour, les pesticides chimiques, etc.), ces personnes acceptent de ne pas la contrôler ou la dominer. Ces photographies sont un témoignage personnel d’une relation au vivant fondée sur la douceur. Par cette approche, je cherche à déplacer la crise épistémologique qui se joue aujourd’hui (repenser la place de l’humain dans le vivant) dans le domaine du sensible.



 

L'artiste

Matthieu Gafsou

Né en 1981, Matthieu Gafsou est un photographe franco-suisse, basé à Lausanne. Après avoir obtenu un MA en philosophie, littérature et cinéma à l’Université de Lausanne, il a étudié la photographie à l’École d’Arts Appliqués de Vevey. Depuis 2006, ses projets tels que « Alpes », « Sacré », « Only God Can Judge Me » et « H+ » ont été présentés dans de nombreuses expositions collectives et individuelles internationales, et ont fait l’objet de publications.