Réservation en ligne

International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens

To all visitors, 
We thank you for coming in large numbers to discover the creations of the 12th edition of the International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Currently closed, the Festival will reopen its doors from Thursday May 26 to Sunday October 16, 2022.

For any request, we invite you to send us an email at communication@artetjardins-hdf.com 

We look forward to welcoming you on the next edition !

The team of Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Le rivage des cirses > SYLVESTRE, 2021

Le rivage des cirses > SYLVESTRE, 2021
Monday April 12th, 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Sylvestre © Yann Monel
  • Sylvestre © Yann Monel
  • Sylvestre © Yann Monel
  • Sylvestre © atelier Sylvestre

The market gardeners saw the fertile potential of the wild marshes long ago. They established a dialogue between water and land, between the habitat and human activity. Today, the power of nature is eroding the ancient structure of the water gardens. On the plains, intensive agriculture erases the old field boundaries and stretches the landscapes. Meanwhile, the valley bottoms are closing, spontaneous natural dynamics resume and nature expresses its exuberance.

The market gardener looks at the meadow which has taken over the garden and his eyes are drawn to the Cirsium which grows on the fallow land with its large, pale coloured stems.The marsh Cirsium, this old vegetable of the meadows, sown by the wind in the mixture of other grasses. Both thistle and vegetable, wild and companion of cultivated places, a little-known plant belonging to an undervalued botanical genus, it stands on the border between the wild world and the domestic world, charming the sight and the taste. The fate of a plant meets the history of Hortillonnages here.

The garden stages this meeting and develops around the Cirsium oleraceum or cabbage thistle. For the picker, the presence of the cabbage thistle transforms the forest into a garden and the meadow into a crop. Growing spontaneously in damp places and on the banks of rivers in the north and east of France, the cabbage thistle finds a favourite territory in the Hortillonnages of Amiens.

The visitor discovers this little-known plant in its environment among its companions of wet meadows and megaphorbiaies. The plant is described in the garden. It helps visitors to identify it and allows them to form a relationship with it.

Inspired by the concept of para culture, a form of culture within the very heart of the wilderness, Atelier Sylvestre considers the spontaneous environment of the Hortillonnages as a garden. When landing on Le rivage des cirses, the visitor is invited to dream of new forms of a garden where the gardening gesture accompanies the dynamics of the environment.

Informations & access

Projet en cours

  • 2021
  • by boat

The artist

SYLVESTRE

Founded in 2020, Atelier Sylvestre brings together two landscapers, Étienne Lapleau and Louis Richard, both graduates of the National School of Landscaping in Versailles, who have combined skills in town planning as well as in botany. By using the adjective sylvestre, derived from the Latin sylva, «of the forest», the duo show their interest in the wild spontaneous flora, which inspires their gardens.

Réservation en ligne

Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens

Cher public, Chers visiteurs,
Nous vous remercions d’être venus nombreux pour découvrir les créations de la 12ème édition du Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Actuellement fermé, le Festival ouvrira à nouveau ses portes du jeudi 26 mai au dimanche 16 octobre 2022.

Pour toute demande d’informations, nous vous invitons à nous adresser un courriel à communication@artetjardins-hdf.com

Au plaisir de vous retrouver pour la prochaine édition !

L’équipe d’Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Le rivage des cirses > SYLVESTRE, 2021

Le rivage des cirses > SYLVESTRE, 2021
lundi 12 avril 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Sylvestre © Yann Monel
  • Sylvestre © Yann Monel
  • Sylvestre © Yann Monel
  • Sylvestre © atelier Sylvestre

ll y a bien longtemps, les Hortillons ont su voir un potentiel de fertilité dans le marais sauvage. Ils ont installé un dialogue entre l’eau et la terre, entre le milieu et l’activité humaine. Aujourd’hui, l’élan du sauvage érode la structure ancestrale des jardins sur l’eau. Sur les plateaux, l’agriculture intensive gomme le parcellaire d’autrefois et étire les paysages. Pendant ce temps, les fonds de vallées se referment, les dynamiques naturelles spontanées reprennent, l’exubérance du sauvage s’exprime.

Le maraîcher regarde la prairie qui a gagné le jardin et ses yeux s’arrêtent devant les cirses qui peuplent la jachère de leurs grandes hampes claires. Le cirse maraîcher, ce vieux légume des prairies c’est le vent qui le sème dans la mêlée des autres herbes. À la fois chardon et légume, sauvage et compagnon des lieux cultivés, plante méconnue appartenant à un genre botanique déprécié, il se place à la frontière entre le monde sauvage et l’univers domestique, charmant la vue et le goût. Le destin d’une plante rencontre ici l’histoire des Hortillonnages.

Le jardin met en scène cette rencontre et se développe autour du Circium oleraceum. Pour le cueilleur, la présence du cirse maraîcher transforme la forêt en jardin et la prairie en culture. Poussant spontanément dans les lieux humides et sur les berges des cours d’eau du nord et de l’est de la France, le cirse maraîcher trouve dans les Hortillonnages d’Amiens un territoire de prédilection.

Le visiteur est amené à découvrir cette plante méconnue dans son propre milieu parmi ses compagnes des prairies humides et des mégaphorbiaies. La description de la plante apparaît dans le jardin. Elle aide le visiteur à l’identifier et lui permet de nouer une relation avec elle.

Inspiré par le concept de paraculture, forme de culture au sein même du milieu sauvage, l’atelier Sylvestre considère le milieu spontané des Hortillonnages comme un jardin. En accostant sur Le rivage des cirses, le visiteur est invité à rêver de nouvelles formes de jardin où le geste jardinier accompagne la dynamique du milieu.

L'artiste

SYLVESTRE

Fondé en 2020, l’atelier Sylvestre réunit deux paysagistes, Étienne Lapleau et Louis Richard, tous deux diplômés de l’École nationale supérieure de paysage de Versailles, avec des compétences croisées en urbanisme aussi bien qu’en botanique. Par l’adjectif sylvestre, issu du latin sylva, « de la forêt », leur duo marque ainsi son intérêt pour la flore sauvage, spontanée, dont s’inspirent leurs jardins.