Réservation en ligne

International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens

To all visitors, 
We thank you for coming in large numbers to discover the creations of the 12th edition of the International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Currently closed, the Festival will reopen its doors from Thursday May 26 to Sunday October 16, 2022.

For any request, we invite you to send us an email at communication@artetjardins-hdf.com 

We look forward to welcoming you on the next edition !

The team of Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Dimensions of Peace > Chinese Garden of Peace, 2021

Dimensions of Peace > Chinese Garden of Peace, 2021
Friday November 12th, 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Tian Tian, Wang Di, Chu Junmin & Gouyou-Beauchamps Laurent © Tian Tian, Wang Di, Chu Junmin & Gouyou-Beauchamps Laurent

Dimensions of Peace > Chinese Garden of Peace, 2021

During the Great War, Noyelles housed a large British rear base, including a camp for Chinese workers. 80,000 Chinese workers passed through this camp. In 1921, the British government decided to build a Chinese cemetery at Nolette, on the site of the old camp. 841 Chinese workers are buried in this cemetery. Most worked in this camp between 1917 and 1919.
Located in front of the cemetery, at the parking lot, the Chinese Garden of Peace “can serve as a bridge that connects memories and distant places, from where the imagination can jump freely between the divergent dimensions of this story, to measure and think about the eternal question of peace. [The] garden is quietly and perfectly nested in the surrounding fields. It almost disappears into the vast agricultural landscape, like the memories of the war and the souls that rest here. At the same time, the garden poetically evokes the larger landscape of memory. A narrow sandy path leads us from the car park to the garden, blending into the open and gently rolling fields that surround it. The driveway passes the remarkable cemetery arch to the right, and the cemetery walls loom through the tall crops that make up most of the garden. After passing in front of the arch, the path splits in two: one curves towards the arch, leading the visitor into the cemetery; the other goes towards the heart of the fields, towards the east. […] Curiosity takes the visitor to the end of the “memory trail” where he finds a stone bench. The visitor is invited to sit alone and take a break. To his right, the fingers of the visitor seated on the bench touch words carved on the surface of the bench, interwoven with small Chinese characters and their French translation. This is an introduction from the diary of Gu Xingqing, the Labour Corps translator, which describes an extraordinary spectacle of celebration at the end of the war. The experience will be as sensitive as a dream and as real as those delicate letters under the fingertips. The absolute loneliness evoked by the abrupt end of the path highlights all the contrasting dimensions of peace. As the visitor turns back to the cemetery, his eerie, lonely existence facing the vast open field now looks pleasant. […] Wheat will be the main essence of the garden, small flowers will creep in like wild flowers. Pebbles or small white stones may come to emphasize the route. In the fall and winter, once the crops have been mowed, these pebbles will continue to mark the course. The laborious work of mowing and semi is part of the life of the site and the imagination of the action that we wish to propose: A “harvest festival” could celebrate this agricultural event at the end of the summer, with a handmade work in which the Chinese community could participate, in shared effort, poetry and celebration. ”

Project by TIAN Tian, WANG Di, CHU Junmin & GOUYOU-BEAUCHAMPS Laurent

The artist

TIAN Tian, WANG Di, CHU Junmin & GOUYOU-BEAUCHAMPS Laurent

"TIAN Tian, ​​landscaper, and WANG Di, historian, worked together to design and build the“ Levant ”garden for the Festival des Jardins de Chaumont-sur-Loire in 2017. TIAN Tian, ​​CHU Junmin, and Laurent GOUYOU BEAUCHAMPS were first met in China in April 2019, during the workshop organized in Tianjin for students applying for CIEPT-19'20 of ENSAPBx. Tian and Junmin participated in this workshop with Chinese students. This first exchange was the opportunity for Tian, ​​Junmin and Laurent to discover and share their convergence of views on issues relating to territory, landscape and heritage. From the announcement of this candidacy for this Garden of Peace project in front of the Chinese cemetery of Noyelles-sur-Mer, Tian and Laurent wished to form a Sino-French team, certain that we would have the same desire to reflect and work together on a project that could bear witness to this little-known story of the “Chinese Coolies”. Tian, ​​by associating Junmin with the team, also wished to integrate Di, as a historian, to support our reflection on the history of the “Chinese Coolies” who came so numerous in Europe and in France, to have a “height view ”necessary for the symbolic scope of this future garden. " TIAN Tian, ​​WANG Di, CHU Junmin and GOUYOU-BEAUCHAMPS Laurent

Réservation en ligne

Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens

Cher public, Chers visiteurs,
Nous vous remercions d’être venus nombreux pour découvrir les créations de la 12ème édition du Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Actuellement fermé, le Festival ouvrira à nouveau ses portes du jeudi 26 mai au dimanche 16 octobre 2022.

Pour toute demande d’informations, nous vous invitons à nous adresser un courriel à communication@artetjardins-hdf.com

Au plaisir de vous retrouver pour la prochaine édition !

L’équipe d’Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Les Dimensions de la Paix > Jardin de la Paix chinois, 2021

Les Dimensions de la Paix > Jardin de la Paix chinois, 2021
vendredi 12 novembre 2021 Marine Bigot
  • Tian Tian, Wang Di, Chu Junmin & Gouyou-Beauchamps Laurent © Tian Tian, Wang Di, Chu Junmin & Gouyou-Beauchamps Laurent

Les Dimensions de la Paix > Jardin de la Paix chinois, 2021

Pendant la Grande Guerre, Noyelles abrita une importante base arrière britannique, dont un camp de travailleurs chinois. 80 000 travailleurs chinois sont passés par ce camp. En 1921, le gouvernement britannique décida l’édification d’un cimetière chinois à Nolette, à l’emplacement de l’ancien camp. 841 travailleurs chinois sont enterrés dans ce cimetière. La plupart travaillait dans ce camp entre 1917 et 1919.
Situé devant le cimetière, au niveau du parking, le Jardin de la Paix chinois « peut servir de pont qui relie des souvenirs et des lieux éloignés, d’où l’imagination peut sauter librement entre les dimensions divergentes de cette histoire, pour mesurer et réfléchir sur l’éternelle question de la paix. [Le] jardin est tranquillement et parfaitement imbriqué dans les champs environnants. Il disparaît presque dans le vaste paysage agricole, comme les souvenirs de la guerre et les âmes qui reposent ici. En même temps, le jardin évoque poétiquement le paysage plus large de la mémoire. Une étroite allée de sable nous mène du parking au jardin, se fondant dans les champs ouverts et doucement vallonnés qui l’entourent. L’allée passe devant la remarquable arche du cimetière sur la droite, et les murs du cimetière apparaissent indistinctement à travers les hautes cultures qui composent la majeure partie du jardin. Après être passé devant l’arche, le chemin se divise en deux : l’un se courbe vers l’arche, conduisant le visiteur dans le cimetière ; l’autre se dirige vers le cœur des champs, vers l’Est. […] La curiosité entraîne le visiteur au bout du “chemin de la mémoire” où il trouve un banc de pierre. Le visiteur est invité à s’asseoir seul et à faire une pause. À sa droite, les doigts du visiteur assis sur le banc touchent des mots gravés sur la surface du banc, entrelacés de petits caractères chinois et leur traduction française. Il s’agit d’une introduction du journal de Gu Xingqing, le traducteur du Labour Corps, qui décrit un spectacle extraordinaire de célébration à la fin de la guerre. L’expérience sera aussi sensible qu’un rêve et aussi réelle que ces délicates lettres sous le bout des doigts. La solitude absolue évoquée par la fin abrupte du chemin met en évidence toutes les dimensions contrastées de la paix. Alors que le visiteur se retourne vers le cimetière, son existence étrange et solitaire face au vaste champ ouvert semble maintenant agréable. […] Le blé sera l’essence principale du jardin, des petites fleurs s’y glisseront comme des fleurs sauvages. Des cailloux ou petites pierres blanches pourront venir souligner le tracé. A l’automne et en hiver, une fois les cultures fauchées, ces cailloux continueront de tracer le parcours. Le travail laborieux de la fauche et du semi fait partie de la vie du site et de l’imaginaire de l’action que nous souhaitons proposer : Une “fête des moissons” pourrait célébrer cet évênement agricole à la fin de l’été, avec un travail à la main auquel pourrait participer la communauté chinoise, dans l’effort partagé, la poésie et la fête. »

Projet de TIAN Tian, WANG Di, CHU Junmin et GOUYOU – BEAUCHAMPS Laurent

L'artiste

TIAN Tian, WANG Di, CHU Junmin et GOUYOU-BEAUCHAMPS Laurent

"TIAN Tian, paysagiste, et WANG Di, historienne, ont travaillé ensemble pour concevoir et réaliser le jardin “Levant“ pour le Festival des Jardins de Chaumont-sur-Loire en 2017. TIAN Tian, CHU Junmin, et Laurent GOUYOU BEAUCHAMPS se sont rencontrés pour la première fois en Chine en avril 2019, lors du workshop organisé à Tianjin pour les étudiants candidats au CIEPT-19’20 de l’ENSAPBx. Tian et Junmin ont participé à ce workshop auprès des étudiants chinois. Ce premier échange a été l’occasion, pour Tian, Junmin et Laurent, de découvrir et de partager leur convergence de vues sur les questions relatives au territoire, au paysage, au patrimoine. Dès l’annonce de cette candidature pour ce projet de Jardin de la paix devant le cimetière chinois de Noyelles-sur-Mer, Tian et Laurent ont souhaité constituer une équipe sino-française, certains que nous aurions le même désir de réfléchir et de travailler ensemble sur un projet qui pourrait témoigner de cette histoire trop peu connue des « Coolie chinois ». Tian, en associant Junmin à l’équipe, a souhaité y intégrer également Di, en tant qu’historienne, pour appuyer notre réflexion sur l’histoire des « Coolies chinois » venus si nombreux en Europe et en France, pour avoir une “hauteur de vue” nécessaire à la portée symbolique de ce futur jardin. " TIAN Tian, WANG Di, CHU Junmin et GOUYOU-BEAUCHAMPS Laurent