Réservation en ligne

Online booking

International Garden Festival 
Hortillonnages Amiens

The 11th edition of the International Garden Festival | Hortillonnages Amiens is closed.
We will have the pleasure to meet you next year for the 12th edition, on the Étang de Clermont à Camon at the Port à Fumier for the course on boat or on the Île aux fagots from the Chemin de halage in Amiens for the course on foot.

Hortillophones 3/3 > Raphaëlle Duquesnoy, 2019

Hortillophones 3/3 > Raphaëlle Duquesnoy, 2019
Tuesday June 11th, 2019 Marine Bigot
  • Raphaëlle Duquesnoy © Yann Monel
  • Raphaëlle Duquesnoy © Raphaëlle Duquesnoy

The Hortillophones are an acoustic machine that amplifies the particularities of the soundscape. Made of ceramic, it enables the visitor to position the ear and to focus on the listening points carefully chosen for their qualities of sound panoramas. Positioned in three places to capture the sound topography of the site, they highlight the local fauna, the vegetation, the life of the park and its multiple interactions with the city. On the Étang de Clermont, depending on the moment that you pass by, showcase the ambience of the gardens, the rustling of the vegetation and the ornithological: song of the wren, cry of crested grebe, bells of Sacré-Coeur or whistling of the trains at the station. Another Hortillophone is taking place on the Île aux fagots, and you will hear the rumor of the city intermingled with the hustle and bustle of rushing phragmites. Listening is a great way to raise awareness about the ecology of the soundscape: it reveals everything that the eye cannot see, and the musical score in which the walker is immersed every day without even noticing. The Hortillophones amplify the existing sounds to capture the poetry of the site without ever disturbing it.

Informations & access
  • 2019
  • by boat and by foot

The artist

Raphaëlle Duquesnoy

Born in the mining area near Lens, Raphaëlle Duquesnoy lives in the bocage near Nantes. Sound engineer, then sound designer, she imagines audible architecture, and redirects the law of acoustic spaces in order to extract a certain splendour. Olivier Chouteau, multidisciplinary artist and former resident of the ceramics departement of the Lalit Kala Akademy in Kolkata (India), is characterised by the eclectic sound materials that he shapes.

Réservation en ligne

Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens

Cher public, Chers visiteurs,
Nous vous remercions d’être venus nombreux pour découvrir les créations de la 12ème édition du Festival international de jardins | Hortillonnages Amiens.
Actuellement fermé, le Festival ouvrira à nouveau ses portes du jeudi 26 mai au dimanche 16 octobre 2022.

Pour toute demande d’informations, nous vous invitons à nous adresser un courriel à communication@artetjardins-hdf.com

Au plaisir de vous retrouver pour la prochaine édition !

L’équipe d’Art & Jardins | Hauts-de-France

Hortillophones 3/3 > Raphaëlle Duquesnoy, 2019

Hortillophones 3/3 > Raphaëlle Duquesnoy, 2019
mardi 11 juin 2019 Marine Bigot
  • Raphaëlle Duquesnoy © Yann Monel
  • Raphaëlle Duquesnoy © Raphaëlle Duquesnoy

Les Hortillophones sont des machineries acoustiques qui amplifient les particularités du paysage sonore des Hortillonnages d’Amiens. Fabriqués en céramique, ils permettent de glisser l’oreille et de focaliser l’écoute sur des points d’ouïes remarquables choisis pour leurs qualités de panoramas sonores. Placés dans trois lieux du parcours qui témoignent de la topographie sonore du site, les Hortillophones mettent en valeur la faune locale, la végétation, la vie du parc et leurs multiples interactions avec la cité. Deux dispositifs, implantés sur l’étang de Clermont, mettent à l’honneur l’ambiance des jardins, les bruissements de la végétation et la richesse ornithologique des Hortillonnages. Selon l’instant, vous pourrez percevoir le chant du troglodyte mignon, le cri du grèbe huppé, les cloches de la cathédrale Notre-Dame et le sifflement des trains de la gare d’Amiens. Un autre Hortillophone prend place sur l’île aux Fagots, et vous entendrez la rumeur de la ville entremêlée au chahut des phragmites des joncs.
L’écoute est un formidable moyen de sensibiliser à l’écologie du paysage sonore : elle révèle tout ce que l’oeil ne peut pas percevoir, et la partition musicale dans laquelle nous sommes immergés chaque jour sans y prêter attention. Sans produire de son, les Hortillophones amplifient l’existant afin de se réapproprier la poésie du site, sans le perturber. Ouvrez vos écoutilles…

L'artiste

Raphaëlle Duquesnoy

Née dans le bassin minier lensois, Raphaëlle Duquesnoy vit dans le bocage nantais. Ingénieur du son, puis designer sonore, elle imagine des architectures audibles, et détourne les lois de l'espace acoustique pour en extraire une certaine splendeur. Olivier Chouteau, artiste pluridisciplinaire, ancien résident du département de céramique de la Lalit Kala Akademy à Kolkata (Inde), se caractérise par l'éclectisme des matériaux sonores qu'il façonne.